Day 16

Hard Works But A Labour Of Love

“For to this end we toil and strive, because we have our hope set on the living God, who is the Savior of all people, especially of those who believe.”  1 Timothy chapter 4 verse 10

Again like yesterdays verse, this really speaks for itself. But ive read this verse a good few times and I allways tended to skip over the first part “for to this end we toil and strive”, when we truly give our heat and lives over to God its not just a symbolic offering to God, it is a request for God to use us for his will.
And in all honesty the tasks God calls us to do can often seem like trials and toils for us ,we can feel like witnessing is an impossible task, like there is just too much to do. When we feel this we need to step back and look at the rest of the verse, Jesus isnt our saviour just once, he saves our souls once , but after that he is continually lookingafter and keeping us safe.
God wont burden us with a burden that is too weighty for us to bear with his loving kindness looking after us.
Before we knew God we had to deal with the striving’s and toil of  sin , but if we are saved thaat burden is gone instead he now strive and toil with that “hope set on the living God” in our hearts. We know that our father our God our saviour is with us through all our strivings and toils , we may not always feel him but he will not fail us.
Think this well known few verse of a  poem sums it up well :

“LORD, you said that once I decided to follow
you, you’d walk with me all the way.
But I have noticed that during the most
troublesome times in my life,
there is only one set of footprints.
I don’t understand why when
I needed you most you would leave me.”

“The Lord replied, “My precious, precious child,
I love you and I would never, never leave you
during your times of trial and suffering.
“When you saw only one set of footprints,
it was then that I carried you.”

Leave a Reply

