“Don’t forget to breathe”

Not all things should be shared with the wider world, there are plenty of issues that should remain personal and many more topics that no-one really cares to read about.
I’ve spent most of my (almost) adult life trying to hide the fact I’m overweight, so the thought of blogging about it is not something I do lightly, so why write about it now ?

Whilst thinking over the verse in 1 Corinthians 10:
“So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.
I started to think about how we, in our daily lives, twist these things so that the glory does not go to God.
I started thinking of how Christians who smoke are not giving God the glory for the clean air he has given us. Christians who are lazy ,but able, in their studies are not giving God the glory for the incredible chance of education that has been given to them e.t.c.
This could just as easily be applied  to Christians who do not use the talents that God has plainly given them.

Whilst I was thinking of all these things, it hit me, Christians who are overweight are abusing the great gift of health, the gift that allows us to physically serve our Lord.

In previous attempts to loose weight it was always for pure vanity, it was because I didn’t want to look fat anymore. It had never occurred to me that me being overweight was not giving glory to God for his great gift to me.

Along with not appreciating his gifts to me, being overweight has an impact on my witness. An obscure, but at the same time horribly apparent, example of this was last summer inn Hungary whilst climbing up a hill just outside of our camp. It was a great chance to talk and share with the campers, I spent most of the walk trying to breathe. What conversations were missed in that time ?
There are plenty more normal everyday examples, but the hill walk stuck in my mind.

As brothers and sisters we are to teach and admonish/counsel one another in the faith (Colossians 3:16), we are to help build one another up to live and serve as best as we can. I cannot tell anyone else how to live out the private sections of their walk, but I do encourage you all to look at your life and see which gifts and blessings you are not making any use of.

We know that our call is to share the Gospel, to share the wonderful news that there is eternal life and hope on offer to all who cry out for salvation, there is a God who is control of all things, a great king who cares for them. We should do all that we can to ensure that nothing hinders us in sharing the Gospel, or hinders those with whom we share it with.

We should fully appreciate the bodies and minds that God has given to us, and since they are a gift from God, should we not use them to give him glory and praise ?

So what am I going to do about it ?
Well I’m not going to do the Daniel Diet (this exists, no really, it’s real), I am going to start going for walks/ jogs (NOT RUNS), with the eventual goal of talking part in the Couch to 5K challenge.
Along with all the obvious health benefits, these morning and evening walks are also a great time for prayer, praise and reflection, allowing for both body and soul to be exercised.

So if, late at night, you catch sight of a glowing red object making strange noises and talking to itself, don’t fear, don’t lock the doors. Just shout some encouragement and possibly chuck me an apple.

Leave a Reply

